BEHIND THE GOALPOST ENews JANUARY 2019

QPA AGM



2019 Selectors, L-R - Kylie Dunstan, Paul McGrath, John Knights, Paul O'Leary, John O'Sullivan, Chris Franklin. Absent; David Hayward, John O'Neill, Jess Duncan, Lauren Sillitoe.

The Queensland Polocrosse Annual General Meeting, held Saturday 8th December, 2018 at the Toowoomba Golf Club, was very productive with good discussion and debate from the floor.

Following the QPA's Constitution, the Management Committee is comprised of nine members elected on a rotating two year term with the President and Treasurer being up for election in alternate years, thereby ensuring good continuity of management and governance.

Current sitting Management Committee members not due for re-election in 2018 were President Christine Franklin, James Bredhauer, Mirella O'Sullivan, John Knights and Louie Raiteri.

Current Management Committee members that nominated for reelection were Terry Kerr and Mike Williams. These members were joined by nominations from Russell Davison (Gold Coast Club), Rodney Geppert (Warwick Club) and John Mullins (Chinchilla Club).

Terry and Mike were returned to the Committee with congratulations to Russell on his election and thanks to Rodney and John for nominating.

Current Treasurer Penny Kelly was nominated for re-election and was returned unopposed.

Paul McGrath was also appointed unopposed to the position of State Director of Umpiring. We thank the Honorable Howard Hobbs for his ongoing support of Queensland Polocrosse. Howard was once again appointed as QPA Patron.

The 2019 selectors committees were appointed by the Management Committee prior to the AGM and comprise the following members

Senior selectors; Mike Williams (Chairman of senior selectors), Chris Franklin, David Hayward, Paul McGrath, John O'Neill, John O'Sullivan.

Junior selectors; Terry Kerr (Chairman of Junior Selectors), Jess Duncan, Kylie Dunstan, John Knights, Paul O'Leary, Lauren Sillitoe.



At Australia's largest family owned poultry farm we are passionate about our chickens. Innovative technology is used to provide the highest level of 24/7 care because we know that happy chickens produce the best quality meat.

The Carr Farming Trust 146 Wickhams Road, Elbow Valley Queensland 4370 Australia Telephone: +61 (7) 4667 9101 • Email: admin@carrfarming.com.au



2018 ANNUAL AWARDS EVENING



QPA Hall of Fame inductee, the late Wayne Austin

Serving your sport in any manner be it as a Coach, Team Manager, Umpire or member of the Management Committee, takes time and dedication and is not for the faint hearted. Difficult and sometimes unpopular decisions must be made. However the rewards of serving your passion are great. Polocrosse is a very inclusive sport and there is plenty of room to be involved. If you have an idea bring it. If you have enthusiasm use it. Whether you serve at Club or State level is irrelevant. Having said that, the Annual QPA Awards are a chance to recognise those members that have had an outstanding year.

The QPA Management Committee was honored to award the QPA Hall of Fame to the late Mr. Wayne Austin. It would be a rare thing for any QPA member not to know of Wayne. Wayne represented Queensland as a player also State manager and State Horse Welfare Officer while serving on the Queensland Management Committee.

Chris Sillitoe 2018, Umpire of the year

Wayne held positions in the Marlin Coast Club and the Far North Zone. Wayne was instrumental in having Barastoc become a major sponsor of Queensland Polocrosse and also the Barastoc Interstate series at Warwick as well as having considerable input into the financial future of QPA. The trophy was accepted by Wayne's wife Debra and two daughters Molly and Charli.

Duncan Banks (Dirranbandi) and Doug Haig (Chinchilla) were each awarded the 2018 Management Committee Award. Both Duncan and Doug are well known to many in the Outback and Leichardt Zones, for their dedication to the sport and tireless efforts on behalf of their Clubs, Zones and State.

Bridget Shepherd was the worthy recipient of the Queensland Polocrosse New Zealand Scholarship. She departed earlier this month to play Polocrosse in New Zealand while being billeted with a family. Bridget will also attend a junior polocrosse coaching camp.



Photo by Lauren Sillitoe

Murray Sturgess with QPA Patron Howard Hobbs, 2018 Arthur Earle Trophy

Chris Sillitoe was awarded Umpire of the year.

Trent Collins was awarded Coach of the year.

The Arthur Earle Patrons Trophy is awarded, not always annually, to a member that has shown a lifetime of commitment at the highest level to polocrosse. In 2018 the QPA were very pleased to award the Patron's Trophy to Chinchilla Club member, Murray Sturgess. We know that the Sturgess family has contributed much to polocrosse and to the Chinchilla Club in particular. Murray has played Polocrosse for 52 years and has represented the sport at National, State and Zone levels. He has held many coaching and team manager positions as well as serving time on the Management Committee, Director of Selectors and as a selector. Murray coordinated and starred in the QPA production of the 'Horsemanship for Polocrosse' DVD.

2018 Australian Stock Horse Awards

QPA is fortunate to have the Australian Stock Horse Society provide rugs for presentation to the winners of the different categories and we thank them for their generosity. Out of some very tough competition, the following Australian Stock Horses were awarded rugs for their outstanding performances on the polocrosse fields in 2018.

Rookie Women's Rookie Men's Open Junior Open Women's Open Men's Tory Latham Russell Owens Caitlin Brook Beth Hafey Justin Hafey Steptovictory Dust Indeed Freshwater Sonic Steptovictory Frappe Jaylyn Downs Porscha Jaylyn Downs Love





Caitlin Brook, 2018 Open Junior ASH



Meg O'Sullivan, 2018 Intermediate Women's player



Stephanie Thorsby for Tory Latham 2018 Rookie Womens ASH

2018 QPA Player Awards

2018 saw the introduction of 2 new player categories of Masters Male and Masters Female. The Masters competition is very much a fixture in Polocrosse carnivals and is a category at Nationals so the committee felt that it was time these players were also recognized.

Masters Men's Masters Women's Hawthorne Stud Champion Open Men's Intermediate Men's Chris Franklin Kylie Gould

John Franklin Callum Brook Hawthorne Stud Champion Open Women's Intermediate Women's Junior Boy Junior Girl

Beth Hafey Meg O'Sullivan Dan Hafey Grace Bowman



Callum Brook, 2018 intermediate Men's player



Chris Franklin, 2018 Masters Men's player



Daniel Hafey, 2018 Junior Boys player



Penny Kelly for Kylie Gould, Masters Women's player



Beth Hafey, Hawthorne Stud 2018 Open Women's player



Bridget Shepherd 2019, NZ Scholarship recipient



Debra, Charli & Molly Austin. Hall of Fame late Wayne Austin



James Bredhauer for Grace Bowman Junior Girl player

2018 QPA Awards

Umpire of the Year Coach of the Year QPA NZ Scholarship

Chris Sillitoe Trent Collins Bridget Shepherd

Arthur Earle Patrons Trophy Murray Sturgess

MC Award

Hall of Fame

Duncan Banks (Dirranbandi) Doug Haig (Chinchilla) The Late Mr. Wayne Austin



John Franklin, 2018 Open Men's player



Kent & Libby Wells with Hawthorne Stud 2018 Open Men's and Women Players John Franklin and Beth Hafey



Justin Hafey, 2018 Open Men's ASH



Russell Owens, 2018 Rookie Men's ASH

The Stable & Fencing Specialists



Fencing & Yards

We can build a large range of difference fences and yards to suit your needs

Stables

We can build high quality and durable stables and accessories

Call us today to discuss your next project and discover our large range of options available!



Ph: 0407 590 892 E: courtesystables@hotmail.com